Sun-dried Tomato and Black Olive Dip/Spread/Sauce

Mommy and I went with Granma and Granpa to visit Uncle David and Aunt Lindsey in New Hampshire this past weekend. It was so great to see them; since they’re so far away I don’t get to see them as much as I would like.

Of course, there was lots of food involved. On Saturday we had hamburgers and hot dogs that we bought from a little food market in Dover. While we were there shopping they had free samples of some tasty products from Terra Cotta Pasta Company. Mommy decided she could probably make her favorite one – Sun-dried Tomato and Black Olive – at home. It’s probably not exactly the same, but she gave it a try today and it was pretty tasty.

Ingredients:

1/4 cup Oil-cured Black Olives (like Kalamata)

1/2 cup Sun-dried Tomatoes in oil

1/4 cup grated Parmigiano Reggiano

1 clove Garlic

1 tsp. Dried Oregano

1 tsp. Dried Basil

Olive Oil

Mommy made the whole thing in the food processor. She started by cutting the cheese into chunks and pulsing them in the food processor.

It saves time grating it. It leaves small chunks of cheese in the mix, so if you’d prefer it to be smoother grate the cheese instead.

Then add the garlic clove – the processor will mince it for you. *Mommy ran out of garlic (gasp) and used garlic powder instead. Also add the herbs (if using fresh, double the amount) and add the olives. Be sure the olives are pitted. Mommy bought olives with pits and had to pit them. It’s not that difficult, but takes some time. If you have a cherry-pitter, it will work for olives too.

Also add the tomatoes. Mommy had half a jar left, so she just dumped the whole thing in, including the oil in the jar.

Pulse food processor to chop and combine everything. Then slowly add olive oil (make sure it’s good olive oil since it won’t be cooked) while the food processor is running until it reaches the consistency you like.

It works well as a dip.

I thought it was pretty yummy. When I think things are tasty I put my finger to my cheek and rotate it. It’s an Italian gesture meaning Tutto Buono (very good!)

Mommy used it tonight as a spread on sandwiches.

I thought that was yummy too.

Mommy says she’s also going to toss it with hot pasta one night for dinner. I love pasta and this sauce was pretty tasty so I think I will like that. I’m looking forward to it.

All in all, I think this recipe is incredibly versatile and you can adjust amounts of the ingredients to your tastes. I hope you give it a try.

Leave a Reply

